Send us an email


Call us anytime

+91-11-4603 2105

Plan your trip




Capital City:
64.06 million
Geo Location:
South West
191,791 sq km
Average Climate:
Summer: 20°C – 38°C
Monsoon: 18°C – 35°C
Post-monsoon: 18°C – 32°C
Winter: 15°C – 35°C
Best time to visit:
October to February


About Karnataka

Karnataka is a state in South West India created in 1956. It was originally known as the State of Mysore and renamed to Karnataka in 1973. Karnataka is bordered by the Arabian Sea and the Laccadive Sea to the west, Goa to the north west, Maharashtra to the north, Telangana to the North east, Andhra Pradesh to the east, Tamil Nadu to the south east and Kerala to the south west. Karnataka is derived from the Kannada words Karu and Nadu, meaning `elevated land'. Karu nadu may also be read as Karu meaning `black' and nadu meaning `region'. Karnataka's people are as varied as its land. The northerners are mostly Lingayats, coastal Karnataka is inhabited by fisherfolk, Portuguese influence can be seen in Mangalore, Adivasi communities live mostly in the north and the west. The Coorgs of the Kodagu region have a distinctive culture of their own. Successive Buddhist, Hindu and Muslim rulers dominated the region leaving a trial of architectural wonders. Throughout the state are some of the greatest religious monuments in India. The simplicity of Karnataka's countryside is balanced by the grand palaces and formal gardens of Mysore, the youthful cosmopolitanism of Bangalore and the relics of both Hindus and Muslims of centuries royal living. The state throws a wide range of locations and spots for the one struck by wanderlust whether he is an adventurer, an explorer or the one who is simply smitten by unraveling scenic surprises. Main tourist attractions of Karnataka are Bangalore, Mysore, Coorg, Nagahole National Park, Gokarna, Hampi, Aihole, Hospet and Badami.  

Cities to visit

The heritage city of Bijapur lies in the Deccan Plateau and is originally known as the Queen of Deccan. Bijapur, the land of five rivers and the domain of different cultures, is an ancient city. The city established in the 10th and 11th centuries by the Chalukyas of Kalyani was known as Vijayapur (City of victory). The one-time capital of the Adil Shahi kings (1489-1686), Bijap...
view more

Badami formerly known as Vatapi, is a town and headquarters of a taluk (tehsil) by the same name, in the Bagalkot district of Karnataka. This historic town was the capital of the powerful early Chalukya kings, who ruled the Deccan during the 6th – 7th centuries AD. It was founded in 540 A.D. by Pulakesi (535-566 AD), an early ruler of the Chalukyas.  B...
view more

Hospet or Hosapete, is a city in Bellary District in central Karnataka. The city was built by Krishna Deva Raya in 1520 AD, one of the rulers of Vijayanagara in memory of his mother Nagalambika. It is on the Tungabhadra River, 12 km from Hampi, the World Heritage site consisting of the ruins of the medieval city of Vijayanagara, former capital...
view more

The town is home to the Master Control Facility and was founded in the 11th century by Channa Krishnappa Naik, a chieftain (palegar). It is located in the south-western part of Karnataka. The Hassan district falls under the Malnad and Maidan regions. The popular belief is that the place is called Hassan after the goddess Hassan-amma or Hasanamba, the presiding deity of the local Hasanamba temple s...
view more

Mysore also known as Mysuru, lies 139 km southwest of Bangalore and is situated among fertile fields and skirted by wooden hills. It is the second largest city in the state of Karnataka and served as the capital city of Mysore Princely Kingdom (Kingdom of Mysore) for nearly six centuries, from 1399 until 1947, except for the 38 year rule of the Muslim warlord Haider Ali and his son, Tipu...
view more

The capital city of Karnataka, Bangalore got its name from `Bengala Uru’ meaning `village of beans’, now the name is reverting to Bengalooru. The city was founded in 1531 by a chieftain, Kempe Gowda. In the year 1638, the Vijayanagara Empire fell to the Sultan of Bijapur, Mohammed Adil Shah. And for the next sixty years the city remains under the rule of the Sultans. Thereafter,  ...
view more

Holiday packages in Karnataka

Etched In Stone
Region: South India
Karnataka, Aurangabad, Badami, Bengaluru, Bijapur, Hassan, Hospet, Mumbai, Mysore

The 'cradle of stone architechture' Southwestern India flaunts some of the most astonishing architechtural marvels some ...

Escape To Southern India
Region: South India
Karnataka, Alleppey, Bengaluru, Cochin, Mudumalai, Mysore, Ooty

This South India trip through the princely state capital of Mysore and beautiful Kerala via Kerala backwaters to the port of Kochi...

Glimpses Of Karnataka With Goa
Region: South India
Karnataka, Badami, Bengaluru, Chikmagalur, Goa, Hospet, Mumbai, Mysore

The Southern western state of Karnataka has much to offer the visitor, from the sparkling white sands of the coast to the evocativ...


Departure date